Top Ten Tuesday: 2017 debuts

Top 10 TuesdayI must admit, I don’t normally seek out debut novels unless I hear a lot of good buzz about them; the 2017 releases I’m most excited about are from authors I already know I like. But this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic intrigued me enough to see what I could find, and sure enough, there are several upcoming debuts that look really interesting! Here they are, in publication order:

1. Katherine Arden, The Bear and the Nightingale (1/10/17, Del Rey) — This novel is a historical fantasy based on Russian folktales, and according to the cover blurb, it’s perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Naomi Novik’s Uprooted. In other words, the perfect book to curl up with on a cold winter’s night! Find more info on Amazon here.

2. Kristen Orlando, You Don’t Know My Name (1/10/17, Swoon Reads) — I’m a sucker for books about spies, and this one is about a teenage spy-in-training who falls in love with the boy next door. Find more info on Amazon here.

3. Caroline Leech, Wait for Me (1/31/17, HarperTeen) — A World War II novel about the forbidden romance between a Scottish girl and a German POW? Yes, this is relevant to my interests. Find more info on Amazon here.

4. Elan Mastai, All Our Wrong Todays (2/7/17, Dutton) — This book is set in an alternate universe where all those 1950s predictions about “the future” (flying cars, colonization of the moon, etc.) came true. But the main character somehow ends up in our universe instead and must figure out how to get home — or whether he actually wants to. Find more info on Amazon here.

5. Sandhya Menon, When Dimple Met Rishi (5/30/17, Simon Pulse) — The Amazon summary says this is “a laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.” I find the tradition of arranged marriages to be fascinating, so I’m definitely interested in reading this one! Find more info on Amazon here.

6. Tiffany Pitcock, Just Friends (8/1/17, Swoon Reads) — I’m not quite sure I follow the plot of this book, but it seems to involve two teens who accidentally become friends and/or whose relationship begins as a ruse. I really enjoy both the “friends to lovers” and the “fake relationship becomes real” tropes, so this one looks very interesting. Find more info on Amazon here.

7. Katy Upperman, Kissing Max Holden (8/1/17, Swoon Reads) — Another teen romance about friends who fall in love. Okay, so my tastes are a bit predictable. Find more info on Amazon here.

What other 2017 debuts should be on my TBR list?

Advertisements

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2017 debuts

  1. Rissi says:

    “Wait for Me” made my list this week too! It sounds so good, plus i like the idea of reading more YA historical since I virtually read 0 books in that genre. (I did enjoy “Velvet Undercover” this past year.)

    Happy 2017 – and hope you enjoy these!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s